Skip to content

Sunday Samples 338

July 28, 2013

One last JJ Cale song: Captain Beefheart and his Magic Band covering “Same Old Blues” in 1974, off of Bluejeans and Moonbeams.

Have you heard that rumour that’s goin’ around?
You got a man way ‘cross town
It’s the same old story; tell me when does it end?
Yes I heard the news: it’s the same old blues again

Well I wrote you a letter. You must have read it wrong
I stood at your doorway, ah, but you were gone
I took a lot of time and let your telephone ring
It’s the same old blues; it’s the same old blues again

When you give me the business, you musta didn’t mind
Cause I’ve got a lot of patience, and I gotta lotta time
It’s the same old story; tell me when does it end?
It’s the same old blues; it’s the same old blues again

I’m gonna find me a mountain. Gonna hide out
I ain’t talking to you, and I ain’t yet comin’ out
Yes, I heard that rumor; tell me where does it end?
It’s the same old blues; it’s the same old blues again

Oh, baby baby baby. What’dya make me do?
I don’t know where I am; it’s the same old blues.
Same old blues again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

