Skip to content

Sunday Samples 319 (one day late)

March 11, 2013

Like last week I still have the soundtrack for Stoker in heavy rotation. Featured prominently is an oldie: Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood singing “Summer Wine”.

[Sinatra]
Strawberries, cherries, and an angel’s kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things

[Hazlewood]
I walked in town on silver spurs that jingled to
A song that I had only sang to just a few
She saw my silver spurs and said “let’s pass some time
And I will give to you summer wine”
Oh, summer wine

[Sinatra]
Strawberries, cherries and an angel’s kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things
Take off your silver spurs and help me pass the time
And I will give to you summer wine
Oh, summer wine

[Hazlewood]
My eyes grew heavy and my lips they could not speak
I tried to get up but I couldn’t find my feet
She reassured me with an unfamiliar line
And then she gave to me more summer wine
Oh, summer wine

[Sinatra]
Strawberries, cherries and an angel’s kiss in spring
My summer wine is really made from all these things
Take off your silver spurs and help me pass the time
And I will give to you my summer wine
Oh, summer wine

[Hazlewood]
When I woke up, the sun was shining in my eyes
My silver spurs were gone, my head felt twice its size
She took my silver spurs, a dollar and a dime
And left me craving for more summer wine
Oh, summer wine

[Sinatra]
Oh, summer wine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

