Skip to content

Sunday Samples 318

March 3, 2013

I think I’ll lift today’s sample from the soundtrack to Stoker. While most of the score has been composed by the fantastic Clint Mansell — who has scored almost everything Darren Aronofsky has made — the credits feature the original song Becomes the Color, performed by Emily Wells. I can’t seem to find any official lyrics, though, and there are a few points where I really can’t quite make out what she’s singing. Any help filling in the blanks (or correcting what I think I have right) would be appreciated.

A word of warning: the above video contains some imagery that could be considered spoilers for the movie. If you’d rather go into it as cold as possible, the song is hosted on SoundCloud as well.

I became the color
I became the daughter and the son
When the feast is over
Welcome to another one

I lay my body down, down, down upon the water
Wrapped up in the clothes of my mother and my father
Oh this is longing; I wanna be complete
I was waiting ’round ___
I, I had hunger; a mouthful of ___
You’d do anything just to get rescued
I had longing; isn’t it the key?
Take take taste taste tastes sweet
They said I’d gone south; said I’d gone asunder
They don’t know hunger, what I been under
You were all laughing, thought I was debris
I was just free

We were ready to behave
But there’s no freedom without no key
Whatever you think you may find
Go out and get it, dear
I swear you’re gonna ___

Oh no no take me from my misery
There’s no such thing as living comfortably
There’s no such thing as going home
I’m not home, found myself alone
All the other others, they just fade to black
When you think you had me’s when I don’t look back
Keep on laughing, calling after me
Keep on laughing; I’m just free

We were ready to behave
But there’s no freedom without no key
Whatever you think you may find
Go out and get it, dear
I swear you’re gonna ___

We were ready to behave
But there’s no freedom without no key
Whatever you think you may find
Go out and get it, dear
I swear you’re gonna ___

Leave a Reply

