Skip to content

Sunday Samples 317 (bonus)

February 24, 2013

This year, the Academy changed the rules under which songs could be nominated for Best Original Song. Why? Well, under the old rules there was a threshold of nominations any song had to pass before being worth contention, and if there was only one song that did, the runner up — that almost nobody liked well enough to name it — was stood up as a straw contender for the leader to knock down. And that’s exactly how “Real in Rio”, from Rio ended up opposed to “Man or Muppet” from The Muppets last year. From now on, if there aren’t at least three nominees worth considering, there will be no nominees at all and the award simply won’t be given out that year.

I reflect on my reflection
and I ask myself the question
What’s the right direction
To go?
I don’t know

Am I a man?
Or am I a muppet? (am I a muppet?)
If I’m a muppet
Then im a very manly muppet (a very manly muppet)
Am I a muppet (muppet)
Or am I a man? (am I a man?)
If I’m a man that makes me
A muppet of a man (a muppet of a man)

I look into these eyes
And I don’t recognise
The one I see insi-i-i-ide
It’s time for me to decide

Am I a man?
Or am I a muppet? (am I a muppet?)
If I’m a muppet
Well I’m a very manly muppet (very manly muppet)
Am I a muppet (muppet)
Or am I a man? (am I a man?)
If I’m a man that makes me
A muppet of a man (a muppet of a man)

Here I go again
I’m always running out of time
I think I’ve made up my mind
Now I understand, who I am

I’m a man!
I’m a muppet!
I’m a muppet of a man
I’m a very manly muppet
I’m a muppety man
That’s what I am

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

