Skip to content

Sunday Samples 284

July 8, 2012

I’ve been wanting to pull this one out for a while, and with nothing better this week I may as well. It may slightly predate most of the internet generation, but the late ’80s and early ’90s saw a small boom in the jazz rap subgenre, including the omnipresent hit “Cantaloop (Flip Fantasia)”, which takes its name — not to mention its major sample — from Herbie Hancock’s “Cantaloupe Island”. And as long as we’re being thorough about documentation, the opening sample is from Art Blakey’s A Night at Birdland Vol. 1, and the call-out samples are from Lou Donaldson’s “Everything I Do Gonna Be Funky (From Now On)”.

[Pee Wee Marquette]
Ladies and Gentlemen
As you know we have something special down here at Birdland this evening
A recording for Blue Note Records

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(funky funky)

How ’bout a big hand now (wa-wait a minute)

[Rahsaan]
Groovy groovy jazzy funky
Pounce bounce dance as we
Dip in the melodic sea
Rhythm keeps flowin’ and drips the MC

Sweet sugar pop sugar pop rocks
Pop you don’t stop til the sweet beat drops
I show and prove as I stick and move
Vivid poems recited on top of the groove

Smooth, my, floatin’ like a butterfly
Notes set afloat, sung like a lullaby
Brace yourself as the beat hits ya:
Dip, trip, flip fantasia

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

Feel the beat drop, jazz and hip-hop
Drippin’ in your dome makes you zone and bop
Funk and fusion; a fly illusion
Keeps ya coastin’ on the rhythm ya cruisin’

Up, down, round and round, rhymes profound
But nevertheless you’ve gots to get down
Fantasy freak through the beat so unique
You move your feet and sweat from the heat

Back to the fact I’m the mack and I know that
The way I kick the rhyme some would call me a poet
Poem steady flowin’, growin’ showin’ sights and sound
Caught in the groove with fantasia I found

Many tripped the tour upon the rhymes they saw
To an infinite height, to the realm of the hardcore
Here we go, off I take ya:
Dip, trip, flip fantasia

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

Jump to the jam, boogie woogie jam slam
Bust the dialect; I’m the man in command
Come flow with the sounds of the mighty mike master
Rhymin’ on the mike I’ll bring the suckers to disaster

Beaucoup ducks but I still rock Nike
With the razzle dazzle a star I might be
Scribble drabble scrabble on the microphone I babble
As I fits the funky words into a puzzle

Yes, yes, yes, on and on as I flex
Get with the flow; verbs manifest
Feel the vibe from here to Asia:
Dip, trip, flip fantasia

Ow, you don’t stop
Come on, come on, come on, come on, come on, come on
Give me more of that funky horn
(What’s that)
(Yeah)
(Funky funky)

Bidi-bidi-bop
Bidi-bidi-bop
(funky funky)

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Funky funky)

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(Yeah)
(What’s that)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Yeah)
Bidi-bidi-bop
(Funky funky)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

