Skip to content

Sunday Samples 268

March 18, 2012

Well, especially since St. Patrick’s Day was just yesterday it seems like I really should pick an appropriate song. I tossed around a bunch of possibilities, but a late entry quickly became the obvious choice. A guy by the YouTube name of Cadamole and with a face that screams of the auld sod has come up with a catchy Irish drinking song to warm the liver of any science geek: “(A Biologist’s) St. Patrick’s Day Song”.

In the year of our lord eighteen hundred and eleven
On March, the seventeenth day (the feast of Saint Patrick)
I will raise up a beer and I’ll raise up a cheer
For Saccharomyces cerevisiæ

Yes, here’s to brewers yeast, that humblest of all beasts
Producing carbon gas reducing acetaldehyde
But my friends that isn’t all — it makes ethyl alcohol
Yes, that is what the yeast excretes and that’s what we imbibe

Oh, anaerobic isolation
Alcoholic fermentation
N-A-D-H oxidation
Give me a beer

Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol

My intestinal wall absorbs that ethanol
And soon it passes through my blood-brain barrier
There’s a girl in the next seat, who I didn’t think that sweet
But after a few drinks I want to marry her

I guess it’s not surprisin’, my dopamine is risin’
And my glutamate receptors are all shot
I’d surely be bemoanin’ all that extra serotonin
But my judgment is impaired and my confidence is not

Oh, allosteric modulation
No long term potentiation
Hastens my inebriation
Give me a beer

Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol

When that ethanol is in me, some shows up in my kidneys
And inhibits vasopressin by degrees
A decrease in aquaporins hinders water re-absorption
And pretty soon I really have to pee

Well my liver breaks it down so my body can rebound
By my store of glycogen is soon depleted
And tomorrow when I’m sober I will also be hungover
Cause I flushed electrolytes that my nerves and muscles needed

Oh, diuretic activation
Urination, urination
Urination, dehydration
Give me a beer

Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i diddly-o-di-da-o
Li-diddly-i-di-diddle-i alcohol

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

