Skip to content

Sunday Samples 262 (two days late)

February 7, 2012

There was a lot of talk on Sunday about Madonna’s halftime show at the Super Bowl — yes, I’m using its real name; the NFL can shut up. Anyway, many people were talking about how Madonna, at 53, was really old. I didn’t see anyone talking about how much older Motley Crüe looked in that Kia ad, though.

But, to be honest, they’ve got it precisely backwards. Madonna was acting too young, like a bubblegum-pop princess version of her persona. I may be dating myself here, but I remember when Madonna had an edge.

As a case in point, remember what her closing number, “Like a Prayer” was like before it was an Audi ad.

Life is a mystery
Everyone must stand alone
I hear you call my name
And it feels like home

When you call my name
It’s like a little prayer
I’m down on my knees
I wanna take you there
In the midnight hour
I can feel your power
Just like a prayer
You know I’ll take you there

I hear your voice
It’s like an angel sighing
I have no choice; I hear your voice
Feels like flying
I close my eyes
Oh, God I think I’m falling
Out of the sky; I close my eyes
Heaven help me

When you call my name
It’s like a little prayer
I’m down on my knees
I wanna take you there
In the midnight hour
I can feel your power
Just like a prayer
You know I’ll take you there

Like a child
You whisper softly to me
You’re in control, just like a child
Now I’m dancing
It’s like a dream
No end and no beginning
You’re here with me; it’s like a dream
Let the choir sing

When you call my name
It’s like a little prayer
I’m down on my knees
I wanna take you there
In the midnight hour
I can feel your power
Just like a prayer
You know I’ll take you there

When you call my name
It’s like a little prayer
I’m down on my knees
I wanna take you there
In the midnight hour
I can feel your power
Just like a prayer
You know I’ll take you there

Life is a mystery
Everyone must stand alone
I hear you call my name
And it feels like home

Just like a prayer
Your voice can take me there
Just like a muse to me
You are a mystery
Just like a dream
You are not what you seem
Just like a prayer
No choice; your voice can take me there

[Just like a prayer, I’ll take you there]
[It’s like a dream to me]
[Just like a prayer, I’ll take you there]
[It’s like a dream to me]
[Just like a prayer, I’ll take you there]
[It’s like a dream to me]
[Just like a prayer, I’ll take you there]
[It’s like a dream to me]

Just like a prayer
Your voice can take me there
Just like a muse to me
You are a mystery
Just like a dream
You are not what you seem
Just like a prayer
No choice; your voice can take me there

Just like a prayer
Your voice can take me there
Just like a muse to me
You are a mystery
Just like a dream
You are not what you seem
Just like a prayer
No choice; your voice can take me there

Your voice can take me there

Like a prayer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

