Skip to content

Sunday Samples 261 (three days late)

February 1, 2012

Man, take one weekend to catch up after your vacation and everything goes to pot.

How about a song I heard multiple times while I was in New Orleans, although never performed by the likes of Louis Armstrong: “St. James Infirmary”

I went down to St. James Infirmary
Saw my baby there
She was stretched out on a long white table
So cold, so sweet, so fair

Let her go, let her go, God bless her
Wherever she may be
She can search this whole wide world over
She won’t ever find a sweet man like me

When I die, bury me in straight-laced shoes
I want a box backed suit and a Stetson hat
Put a 20 dollar gold piece on my watch chain
So the boys will know that I died standing pat

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

