Skip to content

Sunday Samples 260 (one day late)

January 23, 2012

I’m still playing catch-up after my vacation, and now I’m sort of glad I did. I just saw (and reviewed) Joyful Noise, and I was shocked to find they had Jesse L. Martin in the cast but he didn’t sing so much as a note.

Now, many of you may only know Martin from his time on Law & Order next to Jerry Orbach’s Lenny Briscoe and a smattering of lesser detectives. But you may not know, or may not have realized, that he actually originated the role of Tom Collins in the outstanding Broadway musical, RENT. I think his voice may be nowhere as well highlighted as in the reprise of “I’ll Cover You”.

Live in my house; I’ll be your shelter
Just pay me back with one thousand kisses
Be my lover and I’ll cover you

Open your door; I’ll be your tenant
Don’t got much baggage to lay at your feet
But sweet kisses I’ve got to spare
I’ll be there and I’ll cover you

Oh, I think they meant it
When they said you can’t buy love
Now I know you can rent it
A new lease, you were, my love
On life, all my life

I’ve longed to discover something as true as this is

(So, with a thousand sweet kisses, I’ll cover you)
    [Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes]
        If you’re cold and you’re lonely
(With a thousand sweet kisses, I’ll cover you)
    [Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes]
        You’ve got one nickel only
(With a thousand sweet kisses, I’ll cover you)
    [Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes]
        When you’re worn out and tired
(With a thousand sweet kisses, I’ll cover you)
    [Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes]
        When your heart has expired

Oh, lover, I’ll cover you
Oh, lover, I’ll cover you
[Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes]
[Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred seasons of love]

I’ll cover you

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

