Skip to content

Sunday Samples 192

September 26, 2010

After You Again yesterday, I feel like a dip back into the middle of my own high school days.

Soul Asylum was an alternative rock band back when “alternative” meant something, and they were one of the purest examples of the genre. Nowadays the same niche is filled by emo bands, but back in the ’90s it was considered cool not to sound like crap filtered through a swimming pool. But the “authenticity” rant is played out and beside the point. Anyway, they toiled in obscurity for a good long while before striking it big with Grave Dancers Union and winning a Grammy for its hit “Runaway Train”.

Their next outing, 1995’s Let Your Dim Light Shine, regressed to the mean. The brief golden age for alternative rock had passed, and Soul Asylum’s star faded, but not before releasing their second top-40 hit: “Misery”.

They say misery
Loves company
We could start a company
And make misery

Frustrated Incorporated

Well I know just what you need
I might just have the thing
I know what you’d pay to see

Put me out of my misery
I’d do it for you, would you do it for me?
We will always be busy
Making misery

We could build a factory
And make misery
We’ll create the cure
We made the disease

Frustrated Incorporated
Frustrated Incorporated

Well I know just what you need
I might just have the thing
I know what you’d pay to feel

Well Put me out of my misery
All you suicide kings and you drama queens
Forever after happily
Making misery

Did you satisfy your greed?
Get what you need?
Was it only envy?
So empty

Frustrated Incorporated
Frustrated Incorporated
Frustrated Incorporated (Put me out of my misery)
Frustrated Incorporated (I’d do it for you, would you do it for me?)
Frustrated Incorporated (Forever after happily) [I know just what you need]
Frustrated Incorporated (Making misery) [I might just have the thing]
Frustrated Incorporated (Making misery) [I know just what you need]
Frustrated Incorporated

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

